Founded in 1973, Houston Ballet Guild has supported Houston Ballet, its Academy and special programs with passion and dedication for more than 40 years. We are committed to furthering the awareness of the art of ballet. And membership has its privileges!

The primary purpose of the Guild is to support the programs, projects, mission and performances of Houston Ballet and its Academy through active volunteer service and financial contributions.

The amazing women and men of Houston Ballet Guild love to celebrate the creativity of ballet. And we are social too! Our members enjoy a rich calendar of events, and there’s something for everyone. The Guild ensures that its members have a behind-the-scenes glimpse into the nation's fourth-largest ballet company.

Click here to view Houston Ballet Foundation's Mission and Diversity Statements.



President Michelle Jeffery
President-Elect Gay Currie
Vice President of Membership Elba Villarreal
Corresponding Secretary Paige Trahan
Parliamentarian Michelle Maresh
Recording Secretary Sarah Davidson
Treasurer Leslie Alston


Bravo Events Leslie Alston, Traci Bocock, CC Conner
Communications/Social Media Renee Humphrey, Alison Farb
Directory Cecilia Campbell, Casey Rowe
Fall Kickoff Wendy Burks, Denise
Academy/ECE Susan Binney, Laura Kazmiroski, Jennifer Kushner, Mark Loveland, Dannika Simpson
Boutique Workshops Marcie Bristol, Helen Toombs, Lisa Yelenick
Docents CC Conner, Nkoyo Essien, Sharon Roark
Student Matinees Ann Bean, Traci Bocock, Jean May
HBII Celebrations Brenda Clem, Richard Clem
Host Committee Cynthia Brown, Elizabeth Connelly, Sally Miller, Susan Osterberg, Marilyn Ragsdale, Adriana Vargas, Ken Yanowski
Member Trip Cynthia Christ
Membership Renewal Dede Aronack-Loughran, Joan Dunlap
Needles En Pointe Casey Rowe
New Member Events & Recruitment Janis Mecklenberg, Michelle Seymour, Christine Sofka, Cynthia Wolff
Social Events Mary Bonura, Anne Boss, Tua Burke, Cindy Cook, Jackie Eubank, Corina Guerrero, Melisa Jordan, Megan Kessler, Rhonda Smith, Anne Stewart, Camille Wieprecht
Special Advisors Katrina Arnim, Ann Bean, Susan Binney, Sharon Erskine, Gaylon Gullquist, Renee Humphrey, Jennifer Kushner
Spring Coffee Ann Bean, Mary Fusillo, Jana Stiffel
Tutu Times Susan Inger


The 2024 Joanne Isaacman Award of Excellence honored C.C. Conner. This award is given annually to a Guild member who best exemplifies the qualities of commitment, dedication, generosity of spirit and sensitivity as demonstrated by Joanne Isaacman in her years of volunteer service to the Guild.

C.C Conner came to Houston Ballet in 1995, bringing a professional background in law and several years managing Chicago's Joffrey Ballet. Under his leadership, Houston Ballet retired its accumulated deficit, quadrupled the company's endowment, and oversaw the building of the Center for Dance. During his 17-year tenure, C.C. organized 12 National and International tours. Those tours greatly raised the company’s artistic profile. Following his retirement in 2012, C.C. continued in an advisory capacity as Managing Director Emeritus.

But this is not why we honor C.C. We honor him because even in retirement, he continues to volunteer and be an active member in the Houston Ballet Guild. He is a very active member of the Docent Committee giving tours of the Margaret Alkek Williams Center for Dance, co-chairs the Bravo Events committee and puts together fabulous experiences for Bravo members, and has been a long time member of the Market Entry committee for the Nutcracker Market. C.C. is never afraid of rolling up his sleeves and doing whatever needs to be done - whether it is serving food to summer intensive students or taking tickets at Nutcracker Market Entry. His dedication to Houston Ballet has continued as a Guild volunteer. 

Recently he co-authored a book on the history of Houston Ballet and is a Sugar Plum co-chair for this year's Nutcracker Market.